Sue MacLeman

MTPConnect Ltd

Melbourne, VIC

Contact me for

  • Mentoring
  • Sitting on boards or committees
  • Providing an expert opinion
  • Conference presenting


Sue MacLeman BPharm MMktg MLaw FTSE
Sue graduated with a BPharm from the Uni of Queensland in 1984. In addition to pharmacy qualifications, Sue has completed a Masters of Marketing degree at Melbourne Uni (Melbourne Business School) , a Masters of Law degree (Deakin University) and is a  Fellow of the  Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering Fellowship,  ACPP and is a Fellow/Graduate of AICD. 
From 1985-1991 Sue worked in hospital pharmacy roles. In 1991 Sue joined the pharmaceutical industry with Schering Plough. She then went on to work with Amgen and BMS in medical, marketing, sales management and business development roles. In 2002 Sue moved to global Vice President role with Agenix Ltd. From 2004 - 2006 she was the CEO of investment and management co. EQiTX Ltd. She was then CEO of RNAi therapeutics publicly listed co. Benitec Ltd including its US and UK subsidiaries . She then went on to be CEO of Progen Pharmaceuticals Ltd including contract manufacturing subsidiary PharmaSynth Pty Ltd  (now Luina Bio) and US epigenetics subsidiary EpiPharmaceuticals Inc. Sue was then Senior Vice President Corporate (2011-2013) then Global Head Commercial (2014-2016) for regenerative medicines company  Mesoblast Ltd . Sue was inaugural CEO/MD of MTPConnect (2016-2018). Sue has been a Board member of a number of public and private entities globally including her current appointments as Chair MTPConnect Ltd , Chair Anatara Lifesciences Ltd , Chair TALI Digital Ltd  , Non Executive Director Oventus Medical Ltd , Palla Pharma Ltd and veski . Sue is also active on both government and academic advisory committees including being a member of the Prime Ministers Digital Expert Advisory Committee,  Genomics Health Futures Expert Advisory Committee (MRFF), CSIRO Health and Biosecurity Advisory Committee, DMTC  (Medical Countermeasures) and the Australian Advisory Board Technology and Healthcare Competitiveness – Healthcare Committee